“Royalty leads the Fashion”

Brain and silly connections

I like the radio on first thing in the morning as ‘mind wallpaper’, and yesterday there was an item about Royalty leading present fashions, with particular reference to the Duchess of Cambridge and interest in London during Olympic year.

None of the aspects of the piece were my thing, but it must have lodged  in some corner or other of the gelatinous globule I use in place of  a brain.

This a.m., whilst trying to find out if we’d fixed my camera, I was taking various shots of whatever was lying around.  Lo and behold, something caught my eye, rang distant bells, latched itself  on to yesterday’s mind file and was thrown out in to the glorious light of day.

It’s from The Graphic, June 14 1902:

theinfill - Royalty leads the FasionNot quite what they meant in the radio piece, d’ya think?

I’ve chopped off the further info, so for those itching to know the sizing and prices, (all emphases and caps as in ad) it reads:

For Boy of 3 ft. 2 in.”

“In Washing Materials – from 6s.  6d.
In Indigo_dyed Blue Serges, warranted to withstand sea-air and sun from 9s.  9d.

Flannel Frontlet, from 6d.  Whistle and Cord, from 6d.  Silk Neckerchief, from 1s. 3d.


[Apologies if the above is no longer aligned correctly. Never had so much trouble getting text layout the way I wanted.  Just not WYSIWYG on my mini computer. Grinding and gnashing of teeth.]

The advertisement was place by Samuel Brothers Ltd on Ludgate Hill, but they’ll send you a catalogue and patterns post free.
Ah, yes, sorry, 110 year’s too late, ahem.

Another item I used to test what’s going on with the lens reflects the Edwardian interest in the Baronial Hall idea and the whole Elizabethan/Tudor thing with the image of their ‘Elizabethan Dining Room’ design.

theinfill - Elizabethan - Edwardian style 1902

Not quite what I'm after?

Lovely, isn’t it?  Great adverts below Waring’s too.

Well that was fun but, unfortunately, it’s still not clear whether we’ve completely solved the problem with the wee camera or only been partially successful.  Off to do some plant macros and see what we get.

8 responses

  1. This is very interesting!

    February 21, 2012 at 11:17 am

    • That’s very kind. This type of old magazine is full of very interesting items.

      February 21, 2012 at 2:02 pm

  2. What a neat add! Now im not quite sure what I think about royalty leading fashion trends..hmm lol.

    February 22, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    • Absolutely. Seems pretty pointless to me – but then I’m stuck somewheres around 1970, I think. Thanks v much for dropping by

      February 22, 2012 at 9:03 pm

  3. Did Prince Edward model for the Cracker Jacks box?

    Nice Piece!

    February 25, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    • Thanks for dropping buy and great to hear from you but I think we may be suffering from a wee trans-Atlantic ‘erm?’ here. Cracker Jacks box? Sorry. And which P Ed? Please let me know about the Cracker Jack thang as feel bit silly not knowing ref 😉

      February 25, 2012 at 3:07 pm

      • Google it..lol.. I grew up on Cracker Jacks…a lovely caramel popcorn treat hosting a guy in a sailor suit on the box….lol

        February 25, 2012 at 3:33 pm

      • Wellll, I did Google it and reckoned I got the wrong item cos I couldn’t see how popcorn was a cracker(?!) But thanks for putting me straight on that one. Yup I think were looking here at an instance of two peoples slightly separated by the same language. Popcorn might on occasion = crackers. Wow. Thanks again for solving the ‘mystery’ – 🙂

        February 25, 2012 at 6:15 pm

Leave a Reply

